Ok, i've been in here almost a week now, so it's time to give you some updates. At Friday I had to go to school for somekind of welcome seremony. It was the basic stuff, where the management of the PolyU told us, how great this school is and how much opportunities it can to offer to students. All the exchange students were invited there and I found out that there are over 280 of us. After the seminar i head out for the nice dinner with Niina ja Sofia. As we all felt still bit tired coz jetlag, we decided to go sleep quite early and have a calm evening for once. Saturday was 'tourist- day' and  our plan to was get know HK lil bit better so we headed to Tsim Sha Tsui area, to take ferry to Hong Kong island. Ferrytrip didn't take too long, only around 10minutes and it offered a good refreshing, coz temperature was over 30*C once again and high humidity didn't help either. I think that my pale finnish skin can't never get use to this climate.

877945.jpg
Me & Niina in Tsim Sha Tsui, photo is ruined by some ghetto called Hong Kong behind.

877946.jpg
Basic tourist photo from ferry ride.

My intension was to do some shoppings in the island. First we ended up some kind of high class area it was all just Armani, Vendi, Hilfiger, Vutton, Dior, Boss boutiques... As you might guess that is NOT the place where I do my shoppings, so we quickly pass that area and went to normal malls. Thought the fact I found some nice stuff in those, which was quite cheap comparing to Finland, I decided to save my money to real market bargains. After while of pointless wandering in malls we headed to Victoria Park, which is the main park of HK, i guess. In my opinion it wasn't anything magnificent anyway. Day was turning to evening, so it was time to go back home. We took the undeground back to Kowloon and Hung Hom station, which is just next to our dorm. From the station i bought this octopus-card, which is really handy even if you just  spend few days in here, coz it allows u to use busses, ferrys, train and  undergrounds.  If you can't spend all of the money in the card to travelling, you can even pay your purchases in 7-11 with the card. I highly recommend that to all who are visiting HK. After arriving dorm I felt quite tired and was planning to go to bed early. My new roommate David, who just arrived in that morning from Paris, was heading out with few French lads  and asked if I want to join them. I thought that we just going somewhere near to have a pint, but after couple of minutes i found myself in bus with 15 other exchange students, heading back to HK island and it's nightlife. That evening turned to early Sunday morning before I found my way back to dorm.

877966.jpg
France-Finland co-operation by David and I.

At Sunday our plan was to go Mong Kok shopping/market area. That trip didn't last too long for me. The first time since I arrived, I felt uncomfortable in this big population. We where in this narrow shoppings streets and there were so much people going to all direction and directions and hazzling around, that I didn't felt too comfy with that. So in the end I took train back home after less than hour.. Maybe one of the reason might be the last night, which was included lots of booze... Anyway, rest of the Sunday i spent just to healing my hangover and recovering last night.

At monday it was time to get back to student life. Yeah, you read it right, I'm here to study. Unfortunately, I need to take some courses to keep my student money running. At least it was just for one hour tutorial about Event tourism and Management, so it wasn't too bad. Same night we had this welcome party for all exchange students in our student halls (=dorm)  banquet hall.  After  the official part of it  most of the people head out for partying.  It was really funny to see all the local faces, after around 200 exchange students invasion of local 7-11 beer fridge. I think that x-mas came early for that shop as we bought every single cold beers, what they had. The clubbing in here is not too cheap, so it's good have some drinks before going in the clubs. Beer cost around 4-5 € in the clubs, so it's quite good idea to buy can of beer in shop, costs 0,25-0,50€, at least when you here with student budget. The main stage of the night was club called Bubbles, where we had karaoke lounge. But don't worry, I decided to save the others and not to sing. In some point of the evening I found myself sitting in the club area with locals, while they try to teach me some local drinking game. In the end I think I got the rules and been a bit wiser than Saturday, I finished my evening when I was still winning and headed back to dorm before closing time.

877984.jpg
Me, Nicolas, Niina, David and some Irish girl???, in the Bubbles...

877982.jpg
Karaoke fever...!!

That's it for this time, more info coming later... so, hold ur corpses...